well, without a box of tissue by your side. =D

 

[spoiler alert!! please stop reading if you’re planning to watch it]

 

Marley & Me is probably the best movie about dogs that I’ve ever seen that’s not animated. By the end of the movie I was crying bawling like a kid. Seriously, I have never cried so much and so intense by just watching a movie. Anyone who had or has a dog(s) should definitely watch this.

 

The movie revolves in the lives of two married couples and their journey through marriage and building their family. All of this with the inclusion of one crazy, adorable, and as Owen Wilson’s character called, world’s worst dog, Marley.

 

I guess I was really affected by the movie because I could very much relate to it. I remember I was in grade school when this cute little puppy came to our house. I don’t remember if we adopted him or somebody gave him to us but what I do remember is how shy it was when I held it. It was so tiny and v. v. adorable. My younger sister named him Spike. We were both Rugrats fans back in the day.

 

The first few weeks, I could sense that Spike was getting used to his new environment. I used to feel so bad because I would imagine how it was to be separated to your parents and brothers and sisters. But then it just happened. Spike felt that he was part of the family. He was finally home.

 

I remember the days when we’d run around the house playfully and then me and my sister would jump on the couch and poor little thing, still could not jump high enough. Pretty soon, he was up there with us on the couch.

 

From the scratches he made on the couch, on the wooden floor, on the wooden door (when he wanted to go out), these are just small things that I remember from Spike. He would run towards the end of the block and come running back to our arms. He was just an ordinary dog for many but a special dog to our family. We loved him dearly.

 

As Owen Wilson’s character perfectly says it in the end of the movie, “A dog has no use for fancy cars, big homes, or designer clothes. A water log stick will do just fine. A dog doesn’t care if your rich or poor, clever or dull, smart or dumb. Give him your heart and he’ll give you his. How many people can you say that about? How many people can make you feel rare and pure and special? How many people can make you feel extraordinary?”